## **GENERAL ORDER 19-3**

## IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

## GENERAL ORDER APPOINTING MAGISTRATE JUDGE MERIT SELECTION PANEL

The current term of office for United States Magistrate Judge Zachary J. Hawthorn is due to expire on August 1, 2019. The judges of this court have voted to consider reappointing Judge Hawthorn. Accordingly, in conformance with 28 U.S.C. § 631, it is **ORDERED** that the following persons are hereby appointed to serve on a Magistrate Judge Merit Selection Panel:

Marianne Laine, Esq. (Chair)
<a href="marianne.laine@clarkhillstrasburger.com">marianne.laine@clarkhillstrasburger.com</a>
Beaumont, TX

Mark Sparks, Esq. Dr. James (Jimmy) M. Simmons

Beaumont, TX Beaumont, TX

Frank Calvert, Esq. Stuart Yoes, Esq. Beaumont, TX Beaumont, TX

Lisa Flournoy, Esq. Kevin Sekaly Cribbs, Esq.

Lufkin, TX Beaumont, TX

Rey Morin, Esq. Michele Smith, Esq. Nacogdoches, TX Beaumont, TX

James Erick Payne, Esq. Dr. David Willard Beaumont, TX Beaumont, TX

The above-mentioned panel shall review the incumbent judge's current service as magistrate judge, the comments from members of the bar and public, and other evidence of the incumbent's good character, legal ability, temperament and commitment to equal justice under the law. The panel shall report to the court within ninety days of the date of this order as to whether the incumbent is recommended for reappointment.

Additionally, the Clerk of Court is directed to cause to be published public notices regarding the reappointment of Magistrate Judge Zachary J. Hawthorn. The notices shall be published in conformance with the procedures specified in Chapter 13 of *The Selection, Appointment and Reappointment of United States Magistrate Judges* (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, May 2016).

## FOR THE COURT:

So **ORDERED** and **SIGNED** this <u>28th</u> day of January, 2019.

HONORABLE RODNEY GILSTRAP

Chief Judge